Posts: 2,894
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
That's okay. I have it working now. This is the way that I would do it. Note that this will only work for v2.1, which you said you were using.
Step 1
In your page, your integration code probably looks something like this:
PHP Code:
<?php
$cmtx_page_id = "1";
$cmtx_reference = "Page One";
$cmtx_path = "comments/";
define('IN_COMMENTICS', 'true'); //no need to edit this line
require $cmtx_path . "includes/commentics.php"; //no need to edit this line
?>
Add the following line to it:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'comments');
So you should now have:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'comments');
$cmtx_page_id = "1";
$cmtx_reference = "Page One";
$cmtx_path = "comments/";
define('IN_COMMENTICS', 'true'); //no need to edit this line
require $cmtx_path . "includes/commentics.php"; //no need to edit this line
?>
Step 2
Now, in your other page where you only want the form, use the same integration code but change that particular line to 'form' so you should now have this:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'form');
$cmtx_page_id = "1";
$cmtx_reference = "Page One";
$cmtx_path = "comments/";
define('IN_COMMENTICS', 'true'); //no need to edit this line
require $cmtx_path . "includes/commentics.php"; //no need to edit this line
?>
Step 3
Now, open up /comments/includes/commentics.php and replace this section of code:
PHP Code:
<?php
if ($cmtx_settings->sort_order_parts == "1,2") {
require_once $cmtx_path . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
echo "<div class='cmtx_height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $cmtx_path . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
} else {
require_once $cmtx_path . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
echo "<div class='cmtx_height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $cmtx_path . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
}
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
I was wrong about the version. I thought I was using 2.1 its actually v1.8 but I'm just going to upgrade it to v 2.1
Thanks so much.
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
I am curious tho, if I do decide to upgrade to 2.1 will that destroy any of the code modifications you might of helped me with in the past?
Posts: 2,894
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
Unfortunately, in general, any code modifications would be destroyed. So you would need to re-apply those code modifications again.
For v1.8, the solution is actually quite similar.
Add this at the top of your integration code for the comments page:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'comments');
And add this at the top of your integration code for the form page:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'form');
In /comments/includes/commentics.php, replace this:
PHP Code:
<?php
if ($settings->sort_order_parts == "1,2") {
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
echo "<div class='height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
} else {
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
echo "<div class='height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
}
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
That worked great!!!!
One more question. How can you add anchors into the mix. It seems like when it redirects to the comments page it redirects down the page a little. How can I have it stay at the top of the page when it redirects? Same thing happens when you enter in a comment.
(04-Oct-2012, 09:46 PM)Steven Wrote: Unfortunately, in general, any code modifications would be destroyed. So you would need to re-apply those code modifications again.
For v1.8, the solution is actually quite similar.
Add this at the top of your integration code for the comments page:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'comments');
And add this at the top of your integration code for the form page:
PHP Code:
<?php
define('DISPLAY', 'form');
In /comments/includes/commentics.php, replace this:
PHP Code:
<?php
if ($settings->sort_order_parts == "1,2") {
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
echo "<div class='height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
} else {
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/form.php"; //display form
echo "<div class='height_for_divider'></div>"; //display divider
require_once $path_to_comments_folder . "includes/template/comments.php"; //display comments
}
Posts: 2,894
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
With regard to the comments page, the redirect to it doesn't use an anchor, so it should redirect to the top of the page. When I submitted a test comment on your site earlier today, it redirected to the top of the page. If you
did want to use an anchor, you would change it to this:
setTimeout("window.location.href = 'http://www.dan-tech-computing.com/testimonials.php
#cmtx_comments'", 5000);
With regard to the form page, to remove the anchor, open /comments/includes/language/english/form.php and change this:
PHP Code:
<?php
define ('CMTX_ANCHOR_FORM', '#cmtx_form');
To this:
PHP Code:
<?php
define ('CMTX_ANCHOR_FORM', '');
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Your right when it redirects it does go to the top of the page. It's after you submit the comment and before the redirect that it moves down the page some instead of remaining at the top of the page.
(05-Oct-2012, 09:01 PM)Steven Wrote: With regard to the comments page, the redirect to it doesn't use an anchor, so it should redirect to the top of the page. When I submitted a test comment on your site earlier today, it redirected to the top of the page. If you did want to use an anchor, you would change it to this:
setTimeout("window.location.href = 'http://www.dan-tech-computing.com/testimonials.php#cmtx_comments'", 5000);
With regard to the form page, to remove the anchor, open /comments/includes/language/english/form.php and change this:
PHP Code:
<?php
define ('CMTX_ANCHOR_FORM', '#cmtx_form');
To this:
PHP Code:
<?php
define ('CMTX_ANCHOR_FORM', '');
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Also just one minor thing. Is there any way to put a space after the time and the am or pm so it looks like 3:00 PM?
Posts: 2,894
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
Go to Layout -> Comments -> General and for the 'Time Format' and 'Date/Time' settings change g:ia to g:i A
Have
you completed
the interview?
Posts: 33
Threads: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
08-Oct-2012, 12:22 PM
Any idea on what's causing the page to shift down when previewing a comment or just after you click the add comment button?