Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2018
I have been trying to install Commentics on my Live server for the past week but seem to be failing miserably. I have done the installation on my WAMP test server with no problems and all is working well.
After I have done the install on the Live server and I open the Admin panel I do the 4 steps listed and on completion it then goes to the Dashboard and I get the following error message under "version check:": Version Check
There is an issue with Commentics.org
Everything else seems normal and I can configure everything ok but when I go to the website nothing is visible, its as though there is no connection to the database.
Hope you can understand what I mean and any help would be grateful.
Thanks
Rick
ersiokkkkkkkerythingkkkkkn Check
Posts: 2,890
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
Hi Rick,
With regard to nothing being visible, it might be that the final line of your integration code is failing. Try adding the following line above it so you can see the exact filepath:
PHP Code:
<?php
var_dump($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . $cmtx_folder . 'frontend/index.php');
require($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . $cmtx_folder . 'frontend/index.php');
Then make sure the filepath is correct and exists.
Do you always see that version check error or is it intermittent?
Have
you completed
the interview?
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2018
Hi Steven
In answer to your second question, yes the version check error is always there whenever I log into the admin panel.
I've added the line above to the integration code as requested and run it again and it indicates the wrong path.
it gives the path as - "/home/linweb25/o/oceanwharf.com/user/htdocs/comments/frontend/index.php"
where in fact it should be "/home/linweb25/o/oceanwharf.com/user/htdocs/hfl_genealogy_02/comments/frontend/index.php"
So where have I gone wrong? I have used the same integration code on the WAMP and that works fine.
Rick
Posts: 2,890
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
It could be that the value of $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] is different on your WAMP than on your live server.
To resolve it try changing:
PHP Code:
<?php
$cmtx_folder = '/comments/';
To this:
PHP Code:
<?php
$cmtx_folder = '/hfl_genealogy_02/comments/';
I'll have a look at the version check error a bit later today.
Have
you completed
the interview?
Posts: 2,890
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
In the file /backend/controller/main/dashboard.php
After this line:
PHP Code:
<?php
$latest_version = $this->home->getLatestVersion();
Can you add this:
PHP Code:
<?php
var_dump($latest_version);
That should give some insight into what's happening.
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2018
(28-Sep-2018, 08:21 AM)Steven Wrote: It could be that the value of $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] is different on your WAMP than on your live server.
To resolve it try changing:
PHP Code:
<?php
$cmtx_folder = '/comments/';
To this:
PHP Code:
<?php
$cmtx_folder = '/hfl_genealogy_02/comments/';
I'll have a look at the version check error a bit later today.
That seems to fix the problem, but it just seems like a work around that would need to be done for each site on the hosted server yet on a WAMP server no modification is required for each site and I cannot see why. The folder structure is the same on both servers. It seems that the "Document Root" gets itself truncated on the host server but not the WAMP server.
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2018
(28-Sep-2018, 12:33 PM)Steven Wrote: In the file /backend/controller/main/dashboard.php
After this line:
PHP Code:
<?php
$latest_version = $this->home->getLatestVersion();
Can you add this:
PHP Code:
<?php
var_dump($latest_version);
That should give some insight into what's happening.
Where does it show the dump as I cannot find?
Posts: 2,890
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
It should display on the dashboard page. Try adding a die(); statement afterwards.
PHP Code:
<?php
var_dump($latest_version);
die();
Have
you completed
the interview?
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2018
when I now restart comadmin all I get is a blank page with "bool(false)" on it
Posts: 2,890
Threads: 59
Joined: Jun 2010
Okay it sounds like you don't have cURL installed/enabled on your server so it's falling back to the 'file_get_contents' method which is failing for some reason. To confirm, in the admin area can you go to 'Reports -> PHP Info' and search for 'cURL support'. If it's not there or it is but it says disabled then you can resolve the issue by installing/enabling cURL.
Have
you completed
the interview?