This is the community forum. For a developer response use the Client Area.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube!

Installation error (MySQL error?)
Lightbulb 

Hello!

I just downloaded Commentics. It seems like a good comment script, but I'm having trouble installing it. I am recieving the following error on page two of the installation:
Code:
1101: BLOB/TEXT column 'comment' can't have a default value

I'm not that good at MySQL, if it is a MySQL error. If it's not too much trouble, please tell me what I did wrong. Thank you in advance.

PS: Second member, first postTongue

EDIT: BTW, does it validate? What level?

I'm giving you three guesses...

Hi,

Congratulations on the first post Smile

Please open comments/installer/install_2.php

Find this line (line 109):
Code:
comment text NOT NULL default '',

Change to:
Code:
comment text NOT NULL,

Then also do the same for this line (line 113):
Code:
approval_reasoning text NOT NULL default '',

Change to:
Code:
approval_reasoning text NOT NULL,

You may need to re-create your database before running the installer again.

Please post back if that works.

It successfully validates as XHTML 1.0 Transitional (providing you have line breaks turned off).

There is just 1 error with CSS validation. It's due to a CSS hack for Google Chrome.

Have you completed the interview?

Hmm, it gives me one more error:

Code:
1064: You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ''', ip_address varchar(39) NOT NULL default '', page_id int(10) NOT NULL d' at line 9

Thanks for your reply, Steven.

PS: How secure is it? I guess I am being picky now, but security is important (as if you didn't know that alreadyWink).

It seems to be complaining about this line again:
Code:
comment text NOT NULL,